Corrections policy

I review my newsletters carefully after writing them with a fact-checker’s mindset to try and spot possible errors in my analysis or in any sources I quote.

Still, I am human and I work alone, so I make mistakes (I hate that for me).

When I discover a mistake in my work or in an article I referenced, this is how I try to make amends:

  1. I strike through the content that requires a correction or an update without deleting it. This is because I can’t take back emails after I sent them, so I want to be truthful to what people saw in their inboxes and make corrections immediately obvious.

  2. I insert a note at the top of the relevant section of the next issue with an explanation of the mistake, how it happened, and an apology.

  3. I add an entry about the incident at the bottom of this page in reverse chronological order.

Did you see something that requires a correction or an update? Do you have thoughts about how I can fact-check or correct myself better? Please email me at mantzarlis@protonmail.com. I will be grateful if you do!


Corrections and updates log:

  • Faked Up #7 linked to a tweet in the mostly humorous “Beyond the Headline” section about alleged evidence of ChatGPT-powered bots on X, but the evidence provided by the tweeter was a fake.

  • Faked Up #4 included a story about fact-checker tiplines by Rest of World in a broader item on deepfake detection that was subsequently retracted.